Omni's workbook UI is focused on asking any question of both modeled and un-modeled data in your databases. Each workbook contains one or more tabs, where data can be queried either using a UI-driven pivot-table experience or by writing SQL.
The URL will update with each user action, allowing easy back and forward motions in your browser, and instant shareability of results (across all of the tabs in your workbook). The URL is structured such that each tab is encoded individually, for easy portability. The URL structure will contain a reference to each tab, and a final reference to the active tab.
Here is an example:
Tabs can be renamed for additional organization
Saving a Workbook
Workbooks can optionally be named and saved. When a workbook is saved, it will appear in the content system.
If a workbook is not saved, you can still go back to that analysis by searching for it in the Activity section. The Activity page logs all of your activity, whether on saved or unsaved workbooks.
A workbook can be in either View or Edit mode.
When viewing, you are looking at the latest saved version of the workbook.
When editing, you are changing the workbook and changes will auto-save as you go. Changes made in edit mode will also impact the dashboard that is attached to the workbook.
You can see a history of all changes made by you or others by opening up the Version History panel, and optionally restore a previous version.
Exploring a Workbook
Sometimes you may want to explore or iterate on an analysis without impacting the saved version. From view mode, you can start interacting with the workbook to jump into an exploration.
While exploring, changes are not saved and you can exit the exploration to go back to the latest version of the workbook.
Explorations are represented in the URL, so the exploration can be shared by simply copy/pasting the URL to another user.
If you want to save your exploration, select Save from the file menu. You can choose to either save to the current workbook or save to a new workbook (by selecting ‘Save As…’).
Note that when you save the exploration, changes will also be reflected on the dashboard associated to the workbook.